Panning a two-instrument split screen left and right

Post Reply
smwells5
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 10:10 am

Panning a two-instrument split screen left and right

Post by smwells5 »

Hi Jesse,

Is it possible to pan one instrument left and one right when using the split screen for two instruments in TJ? (the question applies to both audio and midi output)

Thanks,

Steve

User avatar
Jesse
Posts: 1047
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

Re: Panning a two-instrument split screen left and right

Post by Jesse »

To do manual fixed panning of instruments (not with a dynamic touch/tilt control setting) you actually need to use an external controller or app to send MIDI CC #10 to the appropriate channel for the instrument slot in use. I know this is crazy, clearly I need a manual pan control in the UI. You need to set the MIDI input channel base to be a number (not omni) for this to work as well.

smwells5
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2015 10:10 am

Re: Panning a two-instrument split screen left and right

Post by smwells5 »

Thanks for the info, Jesse.

I actually found an easier work-around.

Audiobus III enables you to separate out individual TG instruments into independent effects routs. So using Audiobus III, I can pan my independently routed instruments as desired in the Audio Mixer.

I think that in effect this does what you are suggesting. Audiobus III simplifies the process though by giving you a simple GUI from which to choose your MIDI input channel without having to mess with explicitly sending the appropriate MIDI messages.

Steve

User avatar
Jesse
Posts: 1047
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

Re: Panning a two-instrument split screen left and right

Post by Jesse »

Ah yes, good solution if it works for you!

Post Reply