General help - transferring basic muscal knowledge to Thumbjam

iceboy99

General help - transferring basic muscal knowledge to Thumbjam

Post by iceboy99 »

I hope this isn't too dumb a of a question. I have some musical background, but not with string instruments, and it's been quite a few years. I can read music, but I'm having a hard time doing more than just "jamming". I would like to play, say the piano, as I would a real piano. I'm not clear on the use of scales and which one to choose.

Also, I was kinda expecting a key layout that was similar to that of a keyboard. For example, right now I'm looking at the playing area and I haven't been able to find a layout that has consecutive piano keys. I'm unclear how "scale" relates to "keys' and how they both relate to what what I see in the playing area. For example, what I'm seeing now has A#, but the next button is C. Where's B?

Maybe I don't know as much about music as I thought I did (which is entirely possible), but I guess I'm just looking to play a song like I had a piano or trumpet and a sheet of music in front of me and I'm not clear what I should be choosing to do that.

Thanks.
Ice

Jesse

One of the things that

Post by Jesse »

One of the things that separates ThumbJam from many other music apps is the fact that you can specify what the key/scale you want to play in so you don't have to think about hitting the right notes on the tiny touch screen. The notes that are not in the selected key/scale are simply not there. That said, the piano keyboard layout that TJ doesn't have gives you some options, for instance if you play on all the white keys starting from C you are playing the C Major scale. If you need to hit every note you want the Chromatic scale. You can obviously play any scale and key on a piano keyboard, but you have to know which notes to play, which takes time and practice.