Sitar

Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:08 pm

Sitar

Postby paco » Sat Mar 06, 2010 12:46 am

Here you go, a sitar!

Just rename the "picture" below to Sitar.zip

I don't know much about Indian music, so I set the scale to match the Tampura that you can download in-app (more or less). Let me know if the scale should be different.

Sounds extracted from a free Hammersound soundfont.

More coming...

@Jesse: I'm trying to get some looping samples to work, but the "percentage" setting for the start of the looping section makes it kind of impossible without an audible pop. Please think about a "sample number" option for this, which would be a lot more precise and is what the .flot file actually uses.

Also, how do I upload a zip to the forum? It doesn't allow zip files, only graphics and pdfImage

User avatar
Posts: 1040
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

Nice! I'm tweaking it out

Postby Jesse » Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:50 pm

Nice! I'm tweaking it out and will probably post the final version on the server. Before I do could you give me a direct reference to the soundfont these samples are from?

I've fixed the configuration of the site to allow zip files now.

I agree that the % sliders are really not ideal for high resolution setting of samples parameters. Ideally (and eventually) the interface would be a waveform display that is zoomable to let you set all these parameters. Until then, I'm not sure putting a sample entry field there would be very useful because it would be extremely painful to input and experiment with different values that way. I will probably increase the resolution of the slider even more as a workaround until then.

Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:08 pm

Thanks! This is the source

Postby paco » Mon Mar 08, 2010 2:07 pm

Thanks!

This is the source for the soundfont:

http://www.hammersound.com/cgi-bin/soundlink.pl?action=view_category&category=Ethnic&ListStart=15&ListLength=15

I extracted the wav data using Awave Studio 10 (Windows), then just zipped them and uploaded to thumbjam. Now I realize I should have made sure they were in 44100 data rate, because I had trouble assigning the right pitch for each sample. I can convert them to the correct rate if you want.

I do the sound editing in Steinberg Wavelab 5 (again, Windows), which has a very nice looping function and gives me the exact sample numbers for the start and end of the loop. I would love to be able to enter those in thumbjam if the dialog allowed it (that's the way it is done in the .float file, as far as I can tell). I don't think a finer resolution for the percentage slider will work, if it falls short of the exact sample number, because being off by just one gives rise to an audible pop.


User avatar
Posts: 1040
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

Sure, but my point is, if you

Postby Jesse » Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:01 pm

Sure, but my point is, if you are using a sound editor on your PC to get the exact sample values, then you should just enter them in the .flot file yourself! You can push the audio into TJ like you did, then archive and download the resulting instrument back to your computer for further precision editing of the .flot file.

Don't worry about this one, I'll handle all conversions and looping, but for next time......


User avatar
Posts: 1040
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

Would you like to be credited

Postby Jesse » Mon Mar 08, 2010 11:23 pm

Would you like to be credited as the maker of this instrument? If so, what name should I use? Hammersound will also be credited as the source.

Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:08 pm

Thanks! It's always nice to

Postby paco » Fri Mar 12, 2010 10:27 pm

Thanks!

It's always nice to get credit. You can call it "Sitar"

I'm working on a clarinet, oboe, vibraphone, and a set of voice drums where I will try to write the .float files as you say.

User avatar
Posts: 1040
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

Sorry, I meant what name

Postby Jesse » Fri Mar 12, 2010 11:33 pm

Sorry, I meant what name should I use to credit you? I was going to call it Sitar :)

Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:08 pm

I've re-sampled the

Postby paco » Fri Apr 02, 2010 7:04 pm

I've re-sampled the instrument to 44.1 kHz, and now it sounds slightly different, but it should install much more easily. If Jesse doesn't put it up you can always upload it manually. Tested.Image

Return to Instruments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests