Looped samples "pop" at loop point

Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 8:22 pm

Looped samples "pop" at loop point

Postby DoctorFedora » Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:05 am

I'm trying to make a sample set of a bunch of NES chiptune sounds (as mentioned before) but I just can't seem to figure out how to get them to loop without "popping" when the sample actually loops. Given that it's basically a consistent sound (to my knowledge) I can't seem to figure out what I'm doing wrong.

Any advice?

Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:46 am

You could try to edit your

Postby mat » Mon Jun 27, 2011 4:55 pm

You could try to edit your sample with some wav editor for seamless looping before using it in TJ (maybe the sample edit functions in beatmaker 2 could do the trick, do it on your PC alternatively there are plenty of free and capable wav editors around)...

User avatar
Posts: 1019
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

TJ itself really should be

Postby Jesse » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:22 pm

TJ itself really should be crossfading, but I believe there is a bug in the implementation. I actually took your NES samples and did seamless loop editing to them to make it a new TJ instrument. I thought i had reposted it on the forum, but I'll go back and check.


Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 8:22 pm

Yeah, you'd fixed the one

Postby DoctorFedora » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:56 pm

Yeah, you'd fixed the one sample set someone made a while back. The difficulty arises when considering how many total sample sets are feasible with samples from the NES (with three different waveforms available, one of them in three pulse variants, and arpeggiation and such too). I am, however, very much looking forward to fixed crossfading in the future! : )

Return to Instruments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest