New Synths!!! Cool Arps, even!!! Figured out how to make instruments!!

Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:48 pm

New Synths!!! Cool Arps, even!!! Figured out how to make instruments!!

Postby marlow77 » Fri Jun 18, 2010 2:17 pm

Hello All!

I just figured out how to semi-automate the process of making sample sets. It was really quite a pain, but I finally figured it out. The samples I put together are from one of my favorite freeware VSTs, UGO's REZ V2.0 VST!! You should check it out!! I can really make samples from any VST or SoundFont between C4-C7 (three octaves) now! Anyway, check out some of the killer synths I made from UGO's VST:

http://cid-5d00cc8a0e0f3733.skydrive.live.com/redir.aspx?resid=5D00CC8A0E0F3733!235&Bpub=SDX.Docs&Bsrc=GetSharingLink

Again, you have to play it within C4-C7 or things start sounding funny. I have always thought that ThumbJam could use some better synth sounds in their arsenal!!

Let me know what you think...and give credit to UGO if you use them for anything official or talk to them about it...Thanks

Marlow

User avatar
Posts: 1021
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

Cool sounds. Are you

Postby Jesse » Sat Jun 19, 2010 7:15 am

Cool sounds. Are you interested in sharing your semi-automated technique to making them?

One thing you'll want to do is properly set the note range in the default flotpatch for each sampleset. The 'root_note' sets the lowest note you want visible, and 'note_range' sets the number of semitones (make it a multiple of 12) in the range.

Another trick is if you have it all set up the way you want it in the app, save a preset there, then you can pull that preset off via WiFi transfer by going to the URL: http://YOUR_IP:8080/Presets/ and the will be numerically named with higher numbers being more recent.

Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:48 pm

Absolutely!! I used

Postby marlow77 » Sat Jun 19, 2010 2:44 pm

Absolutely!! I used Autohotkey's autoscriptwriter (freeware) to use my sequencer of choice (Orionpro) to record the three octaves at 120bpm. Then I simply replace the names within the flot and flotpatch files in notepad (this is the longer part). The biggest problem I had was losing the special ASCII character used to separate samples. Without this, the files won't work. Then it is just zipping and loading. I have been tempted to use autohotkey for this too. Thanks for your suggestions!

Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 1:48 pm

Hello All! I just added some

Postby marlow77 » Sat Jun 19, 2010 5:15 pm

Hello All!

I just added some more samples that I put together are from one of my other favorite freeware VSTs, TogeoStudio's Oatmeal Freeware VSTi!!:

http://cid-5d00cc8a0e0f3733.skydrive.live.com/redir.aspx?resid=5D00CC8A0E0F3733!235&Bpub=SDX.Docs&Bsrc=GetSharingLink

Again, you have to play it within C4-C7 or things start sounding funny.

Let me know what you think...and give credit to TogeoStudios if you use them for anything official or talk to them about it...Thanks

Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:24 am

Thank you Marlow! I've

Postby jorgren » Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:41 am

Thank you Marlow! I've downloaded and look forward to trying them.

Return to Instruments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest