Velocity layers?

Post Reply
jorgren
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:24 am

Velocity layers?

Post by jorgren »

I see there are settings in the flot file for min and max velocity and min and max volume. Can I (for example) create two samples, where one covers velocity 0.0-0.5/volume 0-63, and the other covers velocity 0.5-1.0/volume 64-127? Would this play as two different sounds by (say) using x-axis for volume (=velocity??)?

User avatar
Jesse
Posts: 1050
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

This functionality is planned

Post by Jesse »

This functionality is planned but not yet implemented, sorry! Hope to have it soon.


jorgren
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:24 am

ok, thanks. There's actually

Post by jorgren »

ok, thanks.

There's actually a shortcut I've often used on other platforms, and it produces a smoother result than velocity layers. You just set a lowpass filter (1 or 2 pole, no resonance) to reduce its cutoff as the velocity decreases. This is usually quite natural sounding. You might consider that instead of layers.

User avatar
Jesse
Posts: 1050
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

Yeah, unfortunately it is

Post by Jesse »

Yeah, unfortunately it is more CPU intensive, and has to be per voice of polyphony. I have been working on adding a resonant LPF as an optional controllable effect, however.... so I'll have to deal with that anyway. Thanks for the suggestion!

Post Reply