Instrument creation problem

Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:46 am

Instrument creation problem

Postby mat » Wed Aug 25, 2010 9:55 am

Well, the problem is me. I imported samples (16bits 44,1Khz) in ThumbJam and then tried to create an instrument. My samples are cymbals and as such I want them to be played the same way as any non pitched instrument. When I press Import New the samples are there and sound the way they're supposed to when I press them, but once imported (pressing Import) they are all featuring a C4 pitch after their name and sound way to low pitched... The question is what am I doing wrong?

BTW I tried to look at the Zip example but couldn't open the two XML files (except in Word bu then it shows only the structure of the file), what program should I use to do so?

Thanks in advance for any explanations the "for dummies" style...

User avatar
Posts: 1019
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

Did you be sure to set the

Postby Jesse » Wed Aug 25, 2010 11:21 am

Did you be sure to set the instrument to "One-shot" in the UI? That should be it.

Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:46 am

Yes I do that... In fact it

Postby mat » Wed Aug 25, 2010 2:44 pm

Yes I do that... In fact it works in quite a strange way: I press create new instrument, then press one shot then go to import, in the imported tab I select one of my samples, it sounds right but whenever I press import and am back where you can record, edit and so on, one shot is still selected BUT the play area on the right shows the pitched style and my sample name has C4 added to it... If I press pitched and one shot again then the play area is one shot style BUT my sample is played liked two octaves too low... If I do it the other way around (letting it on pitched and pressing one shot after selecting the sample) it 'works' the same way, I end up with a one shot instrument pitched too low...

BTW I just discovered that using instrument creation while playing the loops and then pressing cancel stops playback and rewinds loops to the begining! That's the hidden "to the begining" feature a lot of ThumbJam users (including me) asked for... Cool, no? I'll use it a lot...

User avatar
Posts: 1019
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

OK, I can reproduce that

Postby Jesse » Wed Aug 25, 2010 3:14 pm

OK, I can reproduce that issue. But I seem to be able to work around it by switching to Pitched, then back to One-Shot after every sample you import. Then when you finally hit Done and finish the final instrument seems to work OK for me (not pitched down). Either way, there is clearly a problem which I will fix.

Heh, the other way you can always rewind to beginning is to re-load the saved loop set. But I am currently adding the proper rewind feature, so worry not.


Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:46 am

No joy, I end up with the

Postby mat » Wed Aug 25, 2010 6:09 pm

No joy, I end up with the same thing every times: a one shot instrument with samples down one octave or something... I would question my samples but they sound good when I select them in the "import new" screen... The good part is that for now my cymbals are turned into gongs which could be good for future projects ;)

User avatar
Posts: 1019
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

OK. In the meantime if you

Postby Jesse » Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:10 am

OK. In the meantime if you download your instrument sample set (as a ZIP file) from the wifi transfer, post it here. I will open it up and fix your instruments manually, and describe the process I used to do it. It will also help me debug the issue.

Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:46 am

Thanks for your help. Here it

Postby mat » Thu Aug 26, 2010 2:22 am

Thanks for your help. Here it is, as I said before, my lack of ability to handle XML made me simply ZIP for upload in ThumbJam the wav files without any other description files...Image

User avatar
Posts: 1019
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

I'm sorry, I wasn't clear. I

Postby Jesse » Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:37 am

I'm sorry, I wasn't clear. I want you to create the new instrument in thumbjam using the imported samples as you described, and I want it to be "broken" like you described. Name the instrument, then go to wifi transfer and you'll see it in the left column under Recorded Instruments, and a link to [Create Archive] beneath it. Click that, wait a bit, then a [Download] link will appear, right click on that and Save link contents as, or similar to download the ZIP file TJ gives you. Then post *that* file.....


Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 11:46 am

Sorry about my

Postby mat » Thu Aug 26, 2010 9:29 am

Sorry about my misunderstanding! here is the TJ created archive (for transfer to forum sake I created in ThumbJam a scaled down version with only 10 samples). Thanks again.

BTW Dumb me again, I just tried and succeeded to open the flot and flotpatch files with the basic notepad... I'll explore that and try to 'decipher' a one shot instrument...

What a GREAT app, the more I use it the more I'm amazed...Image

User avatar
Posts: 1019
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 3:25 am

Issue discovered! Your

Postby Jesse » Thu Aug 26, 2010 7:56 pm

Issue discovered! Your samples have a samplerate of 96kHz! Right now TJ only handles instrument samples of 44.1kHz, it does not attempt to resample them internally (an oversight). If you be sure to resample those wavs to 44.1kHz in an audio editor first, then import them, all will be well.

Next

Return to Instruments

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest